I spent a fair bit of time several years ago on a Seadoo going up and down the Fraser River and in English Bay, Indian Arm etc. Now that I've been doing marine SAR out of Richmond for about 7 years I've seen a lot of craziness. I'd like to pass along some boating safety knowledge from someone that was a newbie on a PWC in the area.

Get Educated:

Learn about boats and the area in general. We see a huge amount of problems from people that decide to get into boating (sail, power, PWC), know nothing or very little and go out to have fun. Well the fun doesn't last long when they ground in a shallow area (so many in this area), get lost etc. Also, the River get used by industry a lot. Big deep sea freighters, tugs with barges, and long log booms are all common. You get stuck in the path of a freighter and it's not going to stop or turn (cause it can't). It'll be like getting run over in slow mo.

Get your PCOC (Pleasure Craft Operators Card) and more. The PCOC is mandatory for all boaters and gives you a bit of info to go on. I highly recommend a Power Squadron course as well. This gets into the good stuff where you'll learn about charts, navigation, tides, currents, weather etc etc.

Be Prepared:

No one plans to get into trouble, so please be prepared. Being on the water isn't like being stuck on the side of the road with a broken car. You could be stuck on your machine for hours, be prepared.

Carry all your safety equipment and make sure it's in good working order. Bailer, fire extinguisher, flares (not required for PWC but highly recommended in case you get stuck out after dark with no lights), flashlight, anchor, floating line, marine chart, food, water.