Default MUST READ: People with Opinions

Hey All,

I just saw this on another forum....this is SOOOooOooooo true...

-------------------------------------------------------

I unfortunately was drawn into an argument at a party last night with a university journalism student about Jetski regulations. Her view was that Jetskis should be banned because the people riding them are a danger to themselves, to others and create too much noise.

Being an ex Journalism student myself (now a high school teacher) I conducted my own interview. I asked her the following questions to try and understand what evidence and or experience she was basing her views on -

Do you now or have you ever ridden a jetski? "No....oh wait once when i was a kid on the back of one on holidays."

Ok, do you use waterways regularly...boating, fishing swimming? "Not really, I swim at the pool everyday though."

Right do you live near a waterway?: "No but....."

Can you name one brand of jetski or name one person who has been injured or died in a jetski related accident on a sydney waterway? "Err no, but they hit people swimming all the time and ride all night keeping people awake for hours."

Ok so you haven't really ever jetskied, you dont live near a waterway, you rarely use waterways and are not affected personally by jetski noise nor have you met anyone injured by a jetski or are affiliated with anyone who has lost their life as a result of their own lack of knowledge and/or simple bad luck, yet you believe jetskis should be banned and strangely enough believe that your opinion should be recognised as important.

Her "Well everyone is entitled to their opinion wether you like it or not"